Lala's Journal

By Lala

Gnome

Today was one of those days when I had to resort to walking round the house to finds blip! And here it is....my Dad!

He was a very charismatic man, as you can see from the portrait. Such an interesting face. So interesting that the local village art class asked if he would 'sit' for them. He did so, every Wednesday afternoon for several weeks. At the end he was given the choice of portraits to keep. To be honest he wasn't keen on this idea at all, and I think that probably it was Mum that chose this one.

Dad thought it terribly pretentious to have his portrait in the house, so he hung it in the loo! It stayed there until he died, and shortly after, Mum took it out the loo and hung it properly in the Dining Room.

Regular readers will know that Mum passed away not so long ago and I chose to have Dad! He hangs in my hallway. I am still not sure if I love this portrait or hate it! In some ways it looks like him, and some times he looks like a stranger. I think it's because he isn't smiling! He was a happy, smiling, chuckley sort of man that serious wasn't normal!

When clearing the house, we also found another of the portraits. This one was hidden away, he clearly didn't like it, and neither did my brother and I, it makes him look like Einstein! Weirdly, though we couldn't put it on the skip, and so that too is now with me, hanging in the spare bedroom! Maybe next time I'm stuck for a blip, I'll use him!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.