Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

My Mate

I keep in touch with a former work collague, and as I hadn't seen him for a while I arranged with him last night to call in. We worked together in a couple of places and shared travelling.

Gary lives in Bridgend, and when I arrived I saw he was in the process of having his kitchen renovated with a lovely new upmarket fitted units and granite work surfaces. I asked him where his oven was and he pointed to the work surface. It's integrated in to the granite and is induction halogen. The extractor fan is electric and pops up at the touch of a switch! I was so impressed I grabbed the blipfoto of him alongside it!

Gary is ex services. One of the stories I like about him is when he was on his induction course with the Police, they were asked to write what they wanted to be called on name cards  infront of them, for the instructor and others to call them. Gary wrote "Browny".

Well, in this politically correct world it caused panic. He was told that he could not use that name.

"Why not?" Gary said "It's my name and what all my mates call me!"

Brown is his surname. Well, political correctness got the order of the day and he had to be called plain old Gary!

Three hours later and re-living old stories, I could see it was sleeting outside. Take to make my way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.