Picaday Anyday

By Picaday

My First Soay Fleece

It's my birthday today and I'm more than happy to be one year older and showing all the signs and symptoms!
I have already had some nice things happen.
The painters came to do the windows and doors, my hubby made a gate for the sheep pen and I got my first ever Soay sheep fleece as pictured above.
The wool is off my Soay ewe Yaisah. There would have been more but she had already shed about half her fleece before I got to take the rest off.
Because they shed their own fleece it's quite easy to remove it by hand once it begins to fall away from the sheep. You just take hold of some and gently 'roll' it upwards and it comes away.
I'm hoping to get my other Soay ewe Shulah's fleece very soon although hers is not as far ahead as Yaisah's was.
So, all in all, so far it's been a good day.
The weather is beautiful here today so I think I may have to go and enjoy it for a little while.
Hope you're having a good day too.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.