It's in the Detail

It is that time of year again when the great and good former pupils of my old school get together for a coffee morning in the Merchants' Hall in Hanover Street.

I may say that former is the operative word and most are very former judging from the preponderance of ageing grey heads.

I remember attending one such coffee morning just after leaving school and marvelling at the decrepitude of 95% of the gathering. Unfortunately, now it has come full circle and I am one of the older members.
Not that I am the oldest or most decrepit by any means. We had someone present today from class 1938 and another from class 1940. In fact I felt quite youthful.

It is odd though, not to recognise people until they speak or at least say their names. It is a well known fact that only other people age, so I can't understand why nobody recognises me.

The blip is a detail in the frieze running round the roof of the Merhant's' Hall, and seemed appropriate for the occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.