a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The Empress says hello

"In however deep a reverie a pig might be plunged, this young fellow had said, passing on the lore he had learned on the Nebraska farm, it could always be jerked out of it by what he described as the Master Call, and this he had taught to Lord Emsworth. It consisted of the word ``Pig-hoo-ey,'' the ``Hoo'' to start in a low minor tone of two quarter notes in four-four time, building gradually from this to a higher note until at last the voice soared in full crescendo, reaching F-sharp on the natural scale and dwelling for two retarded half-notes, then breaking into a shower of accidental grace-notes."

P.G. Wodehouse   "Pig-hoo-o-o-o-ey"

31 blips later, and I've managed my first month - hurrah!  Its been an interesting journey so far, and I have definitely experienced a learning curve, which is great.  Being constantly on the look out for the day's blip changes the way you see things.  

I have also discovered a friendly supportive on-line community that I didn't know existed, and been impressed by the stunning images that people create and intrigued by the different take that people bring to their photography.  I've also found that I am enjoying the writing part of keeping this journal - I've never tried to keep any sort of diary before (other than a professional record for work).  Diary writing can be fun - who knew?

Lots of food for thought there, and plenty of inspiration too.  So I am actually looking forward to the challenge that February brings  ...

As with many of my blips I stumbled across this opportunity while on my way somewhere else.  I was planning to try to take some pictures of moving water, when I saw this magnificent lady.  Given the particular picture I have chosen to use of her, you can't really see just how big she is, you will just have to trust me when I say that she was big!  She was either pretty friendly or lost in a pig reverie, although it was nice to have a sturdy (pig proof) fence between us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.