Louwestphoto

By Louwestphoto

Flat-pack hell

It's been a long day. We've been building out furniture all day. And when I say 'furniture', I mean a wardrobe. We have the drawers to do tomorrow! 

I say all day, but we had a lazy start. I'm still suffering with a cold, so we had a bit of a lie in, a leisurely coffee, then made baked pullet eggs in a spicy tomato sauce for breakfast. We then started building furniture, but nipped out for a late lunch mid afternoon. I had the Greek salad above, in the hope that some raw food/vitamins may help finally kick this cold's ass.

We then continued building, realising too late that we had gone wrong. Not only gone wrong, but glued wrong. So we had to rip it apart and redo it. Anyway, we finally got there, and it actually looks good. Pretty solid, like it will actually last a good few years. 

We had sworn against flat pack, but due to our Victorian house and the narrow staircase/alcoves this brings means we can't get big furniture upstairs and in the places it needs to fit. But solid wood flat-pack appears to be the way to go.

Anyway, after this I chatted to my mum on the phone for a bit and am now enjoying a pint of very strong cider (Morrison's vintage; it's lovely!).

Ready to start all over again tomorrow with the drawers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.