Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Piwakawaka on the Big Tree Walk

It's been another stinking hot day here in the Forest. The overnight rain also meant the humidity spiked early in the day as the moisture evaporated from the trees. We're just about getting used to the different micro-climate here, but we're still finding it a bit of a transition on how local topography makes such a difference.

This afternoon I fancied a bit of a leg-stretch, so on my way down to our local shop/cafe/post office/bar (it's a multi-purpose shop if ever you found one) to grab some milk, I turned left at the end of the road and headed towards Te Wahanu flat for a walk amongst the big trees on the Big Tree Walk.

With such a name you'd have expectations and it certainly delivers, with mighty kahikatea, matai and totara stretching high above the canopy into the sunshine. The largest tree - a totara - is a massive 31 metres tall with a trunk diameter of 8.4 metres. It's estimated to be over 1000 years old. It's quite a humbling experience standing on its massive roots as they wind their way from its trunk into the forest undergrowth.

After marvelling at a forest giant, this little fantail really got my attention on the way back. I watched for minutes as it hunted midges in the forest, feeding some to its cute offspring that were located in the safety of the higher branches, all puffed up and fluffy, like little avian cuddly toys.

Tomorrow sees me head north to the smoke - again - this time for an overnight trip. I'm used to the drive now, and whilst I'm looking forward to catching up with friends I know I'll be hanging out to get back to nature again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.