FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Sunday Surprise

This afternoon plans for flying were cancelled all round with both Headcorn Aerodrome and Kent Gliding Club closed due to winds gusting up to 40 knots. I wasn't due to fly myself but was planning on meeting up with fellow flying pals had the weather not disappointed.

A friend and I had decided to pop along to the Falconry demonstration at Leeds Castle but the strong wind meant flying for the birds of prey was out of limits today too. So it was a nice surprise when my colleague Mark, Head Falconer, offered for one of his team, Reece, to show my friend and I around the bird of prey centre instead.

It's been a few months since I last had a full walk through introduction to all the birds and it was lovely to see how some of them had grown. Last time I saw Twiglet the tawny owl he was nibbling my feet when he was just six weeks old!

I took lots of pictures today but this one of Khan the Steppe Eagle greatly amused me.

Each of the 22 birds of prey in the centre have their own personality and quirky characteristics. Mozart, a European Eagle Owl, has taken to building nests despite the fact he is male! Herman, a Turkey Vulture, likes to sunbathe on his perch. Meanwhile, Buzz and Woody the barn owls squabble for attention and have a rather comical sibling rivalry going on!

Khan the Steppe Eagle is the biggest bird at the centre in terms of size and weight but he is the biggest 'baby' of them all. He is as soft as soap and was nibbling away on Reece's fingers like a puppy. I'm sure if one of the smaller birds were within reach he'd soon show his true colours but today his timid behaviour was great to see.

I've got a half day experience with the falconry team booked for one day next week and I have a feeling I'll be booking some experiences for family and friends in future as gifts too.

As any of my blog followers will know, I've spent a fair bit of time promoting falconry for the VisitEngland/Mirror Travel Tourism Superstar campaign over the past month and I am starting to sound like a falconry groupie. But the more time I spend with Mark and his team, the more I know he deserves to win. (Queue shameless plug #98). Voting is now open if you fancy getting behind the campaign at www.mirror.co.uk/tourismsuperstar

If you find yourself at Leeds Castle in Kent, pop down to the bird of prey centre and say hi to the falconry team. You won't fail to be entertained - I promise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.