FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Monday Motivation

Today was a typical 'mundane' Monday, which flashed by in a blur of meetings, emails, writing, editing, planning research and monitoring press coverage.

I'm now on a two week countdown to the end of my contract at the Castle as the handover to my colleague back from maternity started today.

I have a new project on the horizon and every reason to be positive, but if I think for a moment too long I risk feeling rather melancholic about my imminent exit from the castle, its rich variety of events and my colleagues that have become like family over the past few months.

Ever the upbeat, enthusiastic PR person that I am, I searched for motivation on Twitter to post on my wall and keep my followers engaged in positive thinking to avoid the mundane routine of Monday setting in and clouding productivity.

I found an anonymous quote tweeted from a racing driver that said: 'There are so many people out there who will tell you that you can't. What you've got to do is turn around and say "watch me".'

That quote resonated with me. My whole career I've proved people wrong by setting my mind to a challenge and going above and beyond expectation. If someone tells me 'no', I ask 'why not?' If someone says 'that's good', I think 'ok, but how can it be great?'

As I sorted through press cuttings - like the one in my Blipfoto today - and read emails from industry colleagues thanking me for my support over the past 10 months, I realised that perhaps we shouldn't always rely on others to provide our motivation and sometimes we need to look at our own achievements to inspire our day. Today was a productive work day and I felt accomplished.

Let's hope it's set the tone for the week ahead and before we know it, the weekend will be here and then...my birthday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.