an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Bruce Time

Another successful daddy bedtime meant I managed to get out in the garden to play with Bruce before the light disappeared. I was going to blip my daddy day care list / survival list, but that can wait.

Successful bedtime or not I am shattered and so am already in bed for the night. Boy coughed himself awake at about 3am and I explained that Mummy was away and thankfully he seemed to remember as so settled down with me. Annoyingly at 5.30 my usual Monday work alarm went off (as I forgot to turn it off). I thought I had got away with it but then he woke and this time no amount of persuasion could make him realise he had to make do with me.

He did get distracted though as we heard the ever to familiar thunderous footprints of Girl running to our room. This meant Boy stopped crying but also meant we were now up. You would think that with three hours to get ready and to nursery would be enough but we were still late enough to get raised eyebrows on the door being ten minutes late. At least they were fed, dressed and danced already I suppose.

Work have been good enough to let me work from home whilst Wife is on parental leave, which is great as means I can still get a fair amount done in the nursery hours not having to commute.

Before I knew it though it was pick up time. We took the usual Monday walk home that Wife takes with friends. Girl and her friend play so much that the ten minute walk ends up taking an hour, but then I am quite happy to lose a bit of time at the moment and it was nice to have a natter with a real life adult.

During dinner we had a group phone call to Wife and Co. It was good to see Boy's face light up at hearing some familiar voices, even if he did get upset at goodbye. Mind you he got even more upset after I had to wrestle the big tub of greek yoghurt off him that he decided to run off with.

Bath and pre-bedtime was the usual mad Monday affair but we got through it and both were asleep before eight amazingly. This meant I had a few minutes to clean up and make lunches before a cup of tea in the garden with Bruce the cat.

Whilst out there I noticed that the overenthusiastic neighbour had changed their anti-cat lawn deterants. She has removed the sticks in the ground and replaced them with a few brightly coloured toy snakes in the same spots.

From my experience its not the toys that scare the cats, its the children that come with them that do. I shall enjoy watching this toy madness unfurl over the next few days. I can't decide whether to throw another one over from our toy box to confuse her that they are multiplying or simply offer her some other toys to go with them. We have a spare stuffed panda or two, and even the odd plastic cow that may go down a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.