an image of teamdel

By teamdel

The Daddy List

Three days in now with the Daddy Day care and it is taking its toll. After getting back from this mornings nursery drop off I was shattered and I had only been awake for three hours. Still by sticking to my list I have been getting through it.

I am working from home while Wife is away on daughter duties so am spending the days in the bay window on the computer. The weather was amazing today, I decided to sample it at one point but got collared by the snake neighbour who told me that her toy snakes keep away cats from ruining her lawn. As she told me this one of her cats was happily wandering between them. I managed to eventually get away and get some work done before setting off to collect the little ones from nursery.

It was nice walking out in the sunshine even if I did had my thick jeans on. This always happens once a year. Its a sign that the shorts need to come out. Both little ones were quite vocal on the way home particularly Girl. They were over the moon when they got in to see a package from Mummy with magazines in them, even if they did have a fight over Mr Blooms carrots. Shortly after reading the card and note from from Mummy and Grandpa I went to cook dinner. Not long after Boy appeared with his face in the cardboard envelope shouting for "Mummy" & "Bampa".

The fresh air from the walk and the pasta dinner seemed to wake me though and as we headed upstairs for bath and bedtime I felt quite energised. I should have known better as, as soon as we got upstairs they went wild, and both being very very vocal, particularly Girl. When I eventually got them in the bath within second Boy announced he was releasing a boat of his own into the water. I removed him and put him on the potty, much to his disgust, all the while Girl was continuing to talk at me.

Hot days mean open windows so the street must have been really pleased to hear me shout about not wanting to shout but failing as it was the only way to be heard. Upset at failing one of my daddy list tasks I pulled myself together in time for stories and bed. I should have known that Boy could not continue to go to bed easily as he really fought it tonight, though I think this was down to the heat. He eventually went off after I left him on his own for a bit against his wishes.

I then went downstairs lacking any energy, feeling like I had been sat on by budgie breeder and former strongman Geoff Capes. Working from home can be lonely, as can daddy parenting, thankfully Wife is due back tomorrow, I have never missed her more.

As I have typed this tonight I saw this on the telly box,it has to be a winner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.