First day at Hot Bed Press

Our first day of a year long course at Hot Bed Press in Salford. A day for getting to find out what would be happening during the year, to get to know Sean and other staff from the studio - and one another.  There are 16 of us on the course.  We began with `trace mono-print', something that I've done quite a bit of before but I still picked up some very useful tips about how much ink to have on the plate (I think I've always had too much in the past),  ways of re-working into the image with other colours - something I haven't done before, though I have used different techniques for making a more complex image and I loved the very simple bridge for keeping our hands away from the paper - I've now made one for home.

A long and very expensive train journey - starting out at 6.45 from home , with three hours travelling on either side of the studio time.  Crossing the Pennines by train was very beautiful with the snow still on the hill tops and I enjoyed my walk from Manchester Piccadilly station into the studio in Salford (approx 2 miles).   I'm hoping to meet up with one of the other course members next Monday and drive to her house in Glossop - weather permitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.