If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

An original Joe Berwick?

Artist unknown, but I strongly suspect this is an original Joe Berwick, perhaps the only one in existance.  Joe was my maternal Grandfather who died long before I was born.  I have posted an example of his woodwork before on  11th May 14.

At home when I was growing up there was a painting of a Tabby cat called Nabob which had been done by Joe.  There was also this one hanging in the "parlour".  Nabob I knew was painted by my Granddad but nobody mentioned who painted this.  It is obviously an amateur water colour and amateur mount.  So I assume it was one Joe had done, mounted and framed himself.

When Dad died and my Mum came to live with us this was one of the things I didn't part with.  Now thirty years later while going through a box looking for something I noticed it again.  While considering whether to keep it CC  suggested if I blipped it I would at least have a record of it.  So here it is,  if you are wondering it is as far as I can see Derwentwater with Derwent Isle  in the foreground and Cat Bells behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.