Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Brindley Heath, Snow, Fog and Sunrise

I had considered an early visit to the Peaks to capture the remaining snow but the forecast of thick fog put me off.  Still when I woke up I realised the local area was not being spared.  I set off for Cannock Chase, and was pleasantly surprised as I drove higher that the fog was thinning out; there was even a bit of blue sky.  I loaded up and started walking across Brindley Heath.  I'd noticed the remains of snow as I'd driven up so was pleasantly surprised to find some lying in sheltered areas.

And then the sun came out!  These brief moments of light are wonderful, helped in the most part by the swirling mist and cloud to give the mix of light and shade.

Technical: A 3 stop soft ND Grad used to control the sky.  I suspect this was more like a 2 Stop Grad as it was sitting high in the filter holder.  Processing was mainly basic highlights and shadow sliders.  I vignetted slightly to darken corners.


ps The map facility is now picking up my geocoding  and the issue with the Map Module in the Lightroom now appears resolved (this affected Mac users who upgraded to OS X Yosemite).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.