North Berwick

I woke at about 6 with a deep gloom. Last night's break has really upset me, but nothing else to do but get on with it.  So I got up, scraped the ice off the car and went for a swim, a good 30 minutes.  Home via Homebase for cooker bulbs and other essentials. like half price jasmine plants.

Then the pain!  Sitting last night sorting photos on my phone and my laptop till well late then 30 minutes of breaststroke this morning has done for me.  Of course I compounded it by cleaning out the stoor under the tv and sorting all the cabling.  Up and down on my knees.

The afternoon was better.  I took mum and dad down to North Berwick.  It was a lovely run.  We had a late lunch in the Ship Inn which turned out to be a very late lunch as it took about an hour to get food.  It was good when it came, but a long long wait.

Then a wee walk along the main street via the ironmongers/garden centre.  I bought things, of course.  I managed a side trip to see the sea, but although it looked lovely it was very cold.  Too cold for dad.  I have a water colour of this view, possibly late Victorian.  I bought it at a jumble sale about 40 years ago.  I may blip it tomorrow, then you can see the changes.  There are lot of galleries and twee shops in North Berwick but no time to explore them.  And it's the home of the excellent NB gin, but no opportunity to imbibe.  I spent my childhood holidays in North Berwick, much has changed, much remains the same.

Coming home was a nightmare.  I was driving west straight into the lowering, but very strong, winter sun.  Visibility nil by the time I came off the bypass.

Now an evening of some telly, and a hwb on my back.

And I bought superglue for the break.  I think (I hope) it is being replaced on Wednesday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.