More Pensioner Musings

Up to visit mum and take her for a birl round in her chair. A cauld blaw sitting by the canal which is still frozen. It seems that every kid in the neighbourhood has thrown every moveable object onto it. I used to tell my kids off from doing that. It'll fill up if everyone did it, I told them. Which reminds me of an old saying that a student pal used to trot out when told off with a, 'what if everyone did that?' reprimand. 'Then I'd certainly be daft to do otherwise' he'd say. I'm sure someone can enlighten me as to the provenance of that.
And back to her cosy room to warm up and watch Raith Rovers, there was yesterday's discarded Scotsman newspaper. Containing a fine column by Brian Wilson, Scotland's last rational politician. Leaving aside the subject of his scrutiny, he deftly summarised a particular issue as opposed by two irreconcilable camps, but where a rational majority could surely hold sway - those with a belief in evidence based policy. But of course, this is a democracy, and an election does approach - and now we have a policy owing everything to an 'auction of political indignation'. What a tremendous phrase.
Arise, Sir Brian. He gets my free lifetime blip membership.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.