Norm

By Norm

Drilling

So lovely to see the sun today! It actually had plenty of warmth to it too, so Ted and I had a fun hour or so in the garden soaking up some rays. I brushed up on my Spanish for our forthcoming trip to Barcelona (about which more to come!) while Ted did a little DIY. He was copying our builder who also spent the day drilling - he's knocked through from the extension into our en suite bathroom, making lots of noise and mess.

On a parenting note, I've started being quite permissive with what I allow Ted to play with. I'm doing on the basis that I'd rather he learnt to handle 'dangerous' things safely. So today he used the bread knife (with me guiding it) to cut a slice of bread, he used a small sharp knife (with me next to him but not touching) to cut up an apple, and then he used his wooden hammer to knock in this nail, which he then decided to drill. (I drew the line at a real drill!!). He's such a daredevil child I've decided he will inevitably try things that are potentially dangerous (he will climb a 5-bar gate in seconds) I need to just accept it and help him learn safe ways to do things, and avoid any trips to A&E!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.