Pinkneys Green

After my long walk around DC yesterday, I was really quite tired on my return flight home.  We landed at about 630am at Heathrow to a cold and grey morning.  As soon as I got home I eagerly went to bed for a very long nap and was surprised to wake up to a sunny and warm afternoon.  It was even warm enough (just!) to sit outside for an hour or so with a hot cup of coffee, wrapped up in a couple of layers, allowing my face to bask in the sun.  I have a sun-trap in my back garden and I love sitting out at the earliest sign of spring.  It felt like spring, but I know it's too early to get too excited!   

Dolly and I then headed out to one of our favourite walks near Maidenhead.  We walked through the woods and over the Common of Pinkneys Green village.  Both the woods (Maidenhead Thicket) and the Common are owned by the National Trust.  The Thicket was once a haunt of Highwaymen.  

As we came out of the Thicket and walked towards the Common, we were greeted by this young lady out for a late afternoon ride.  Thankfully she seemed relatively harmless compared to the legendary Highwaymen of long ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.