Pancake Day - Dutch Style

Alternate title:  In Praise Of Blue Sky

Having tolerated so many grey dark windy days, and even with this morning starting off grey and dark, it was a pure delight to walk around our village park with such a beautiful blue sky.  This picture was taken at about 130 this afternoon.  I find the park a bit boring day after day but most of our favourite walks are knee-deep in mud - at least for Dolly!  But the big blue sky makes it a bit more interesting!  

It WAS still windy, however, and a little later this afternoon we were experiencing almost black skies, a torrential downpour, and even some hail in places!  I popped into Waitrose for a quick shop and it was sunny. I came out about 30 minutes later to what looked like a monsoon!  I don't think it actually lasted that long but every person who was leaving at the same time as I was gasped with surprise - it had changed so quickly!  

Today is what's called 'Pancake Day' in England, more correctly known as 'Shrove Tuesday' in the Church calendar - the day before Lent. Traditionally today is the day that you would clear out your cupboards of things like milk sugar and eggs before the period of abstinence during Lent. Hence the making of pancakes. The tradition has stuck in the UK even for those who don't particularly observe Lent. These aren't American style pancakes that are made - more like French crepes. Various sweet toppings might be used but the traditional is a lathering of butter, a drizzle of lemon juice and a sprinkle of sugar.  Very yummy.

I was mildly interested in making pancakes this evening but didn't really feel like going to the bother just for me. Maybe some ready made crepes?  But they were sold out at Waitrose. Then I saw these little Dutch pancakes, called 'Poffertjes'. I have happy memories of devouring these in outdoor cafes when I was in Amsterdam years ago and since I have a Dutch lodger I decided these would do nicely. Heated in the microwave, a few nobs of butter and a sprinkle of powdered sugar. Deelish!!! And the lodger seemed pleased!  So did my other lodger!  And so did Dolly!  A happy household - all from a bag of little pancakes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.