Dodging Imogen

We have had a very pleasant overnight visit with my friend in Banbury, enjoying her comfortable hospitality and delicious home cooking. We tried most of the day to go for a stroll around the village but Storm Imogen had hit the UK; the wind was howling and every time we looked out it was raining sideways.

Finally I put my stuff into the car at about 330pm, ready to head home, when I realised it wasn't actually raining.  So the 4 of us bundled up and went for a quick walk around the village. I don't think I've ever seen so many thatched roof cottages in one place before. It was a real 'chocolate box' type of village, even with its own duck pond in the middle. There were plenty of snowdrops and daffodils to help brighten up the dark day. We walked in a big loop and only when we were about 5 min from the house did the heavens open again with more rain. We got a little wet but it could have been worse!  I look forward to returning when I can explore a bit more in the sunshine!  

In other news:
30 years ago today I graduated from 'Stew School' (aka Flight Attendant Training). See my Extra photo for my graduation picture. I never wanted to be a Flight Attendant - I fell into it by accident (a story for another day). But 30 years later I still love it, even with the turmoil in our industry. We were the first class of 1986 and the first group to wear this new uniform. There were over 70 of us and with all the changes over the years there are only about 25 or so of us left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.