New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Writing

She sat next to me at the café, a slender woman in her late twenties, with beautiful soft skin. Absent minded, she sipped her tea from time to time, but her attention was directed at a little pink notebook, laying on the table in front of her. As the girl wrote in her pink companion, she rested her head on the left hand, and her black long hair touched the table lightly. I tried not to stare at her, but she was very attractive and I was very curious.
What was she writing in that notebook? I probably would never know. I finished my coffee, pushed my chair back and stood up. Gathered my things slowly, acting as if I had all the time in the world, and as I passed her, I secretly gazed down on her notebook. I could only read the first line and it said:
”The man at the next table is staring at me, and he does a lousy job hiding it”.
I never went to that café again.
 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For a long time it’s been a dream of mine to write. But, for some reason, I’ve been afraid to pursue that dream. Maybe because I’ve thought about it for so long, and I was afraid that if I did some “serious” writing and it was a total failure, I would “loose” my dream. And then what would I do?
 
I understand that this may sound silly, but for me this was so serious, that whenever I tried to write something creative, I got anxious and suffered badly from writer’s block. Nevertheless, now that I’m currently umemployed, I’ve decided to give it a try. Just relax and have fun with it! If I come to the conclusion that writing isn’t the thing for me, well then at least I’m free to chase another one ;-)
 
I have “a room of my own” to write in, well equipped with a large computer screen and a very comfortable chair. To my right I’ve got my notebooks, where I collect ideas, and jot down thoughts and quotes I like. To my left is an excellent book on creative writing by dr. Anna Heiða Pálsdóttir, Ph.D. in Literature, my teacher in a course I took two years ago. A nice cup of tea and candlelight are also essential.
 
 
This concludes day nr. 9 in the February photography challenge.

1 on my table
2 comfy
3 starts with p
4 pink
5 old school
6 walk
7 accessory
8 chaos
9  writing
10 curly
11 pattern
12 my view today
13 love
14 valentine
15 macro
16 makes me happy
17 dessert
18 hidden
19 one
20 modern
21 what i’m reading
22 street
23 soft
24 early
25 top
26 a selfie
27 a dreaded task
28 paper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.