The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

1960s chocolate box blip

This is the best I could manage today. IT was rush rush rush all the time at work, then rushing off to the bank at lunchtime. To my surprise, my local branch of the NatWest had turned into a sort of airport lounge, with stripey carpets, and human beings replaced by machines. Gone were the old glass screens and wooden fittings, gone were the faces I'd known....

"When did this happen?" I asked, and was even more surprised to be told "last November". Guess that's what working full time has meant to me....

I dived into a taxi to my next job, and spent the next couple of hours reassuring a nervous new student. CleanSteve picked me up afterwards, and had bagged a lovely shot of a heron in the river Frome en route to my less salubrious building. But I had to get straight into making soup on my return, because Steve had another three meetings to go to! So that left me with the sunset from my back step, which I must have blipped scores of times, or a very lurid shot of some of my birthday flowers. It has to be said that, being a pre-schooler, I adored those flat 1960s chocolate boxes with thatched cottages; roses; puppies and kittens on them. For some reason, they are inexplicably linked to an Enid Blyton book I once asked for, https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6041646-a-basket-of-surprises and got, on my birthday. My mother wasn't keen on La Blyton, but would relent for birthdays. The rest of the time, we got our contraband literature from our friends down the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.