Wedding Bells

Today is my wedding anniversary. I have been married twice, both on 9th February, thirty four years apart.

Neither of my weddings were what could be called grand affairs; the first was in 1973 at Croydon Register Office with two guests, neighbours from the flat across the corridor who agreed to be witnesses.

The second was held at Stratford upon Avon Registry Office in 2007, this time we had three guests, Emma and her then boyfriend and Tom.

I have always considered weddings a bureaucratic exercise, not anything to take very seriously, though one of Emma's first job was as a wedding organiser at a country hotel outside Warwick. Ann and I have our real anniversary in October, 29 years.

There are no photos from either event so here's a photo of a photo of Andrew (number two son) and Noriko taken in their traditional Japanese wedding gear a few years ago, not by me, as tradition dictates, I wasn't there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.