Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I'll have the heron, please, with a side of gator!

A brisk but sunny day here in paradise Florida. So, after breakfast and a nice long chat with my parents, I headed out to check on the heron colony where things were a bit calmer.  Well, the herons were calmer - the osprey, on the other hand, were in a fevered pitch, attacking everything.  I watched one of them chase a hapless anhinga until the latter finally dove head-first into the lake.  Then, a bald eagle dared to venture too close and a very impressive aerial chase ensued with the poor eagle trying desperately to outfly the smaller but much more agile osprey.  And, for good measure, once the eagle was gone, the osprey chased a red-shouldered hawk.  No wonder the herons were all sitting tight on their nests.  

After that bit of excitement, I decided to head over to the Largo Nature Preserve where I was treated to a pair of osprey doing their beautiful courtship flight, followed by vigorous (ahem) mating.  Not once, but twice.  Not taking any chances I guess. Afterwards, they smoked a cigarette sat side-by-side and preened their feathers. Very cool to see.

Meanwhile, as I watched the osprey, behind me a large (8-9 foot) alligator lay in the grass at the edge of the pond, trying to blend in.  And while he/she sat there, moorhens, ibis, an anhinga and this little Green Heron fished and pottered all around it.  And although this isn't my best picture today of the green heron, I picked it because you can see how close (and large) the gator was.  By the way, I was on a boardwalk, about 15 feet away from the gator, when I took this. Far enough off the water not to be in any danger as I lay on my belly snapping away.

Green herons are quite small, measuring 16-18 inches (41-46 cm) length.  They are year-round birds in FL and coastal California, and summer residents in much of the eastern US.  They are shy birds and not always easy to photograph.  

I posted my seven other favorite shots from today starting HERE on Flickr

Yesterday afternoon was very productive - we secured a moving company to move us on March 30; and also helped our landlord secure a new tenant, who will move in April 1.  This lets us out of our lease, which is great news.  This morning, we locked in the company who will transport one of our two cars back to NJ - same guy who brought my car down.  Boxes are continuing to be packed.  Tic toc.

Thank you for sending my herons to the Popular page yesterday - I felt a bit humbled by the company I was keeping.  

Toodles, good people.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.