A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Clay Pipe

Every day’s a lesson.

It’s been a hectic few days and I’m still trying to research the clay pipe I found on the Thames foreshore yesterday. I’m sorry I haven’t managed to look at other Blips yet…

I've used a process of elimination to try and date the pipe. So far I have found a reference to the shape and small foot it has. This suggests it could be from between 1740-50 although it’s possible it could be between 1750-80. After this time they generally had a stubby foot. 

The crest is definitely Georgian. The only missing part appears to be in the 4th quarter where the Imperial Crown of the Holy Roman Empire is missing. The wording around the crest ‘Honi soit qui mal y pense'  translates to "Evil unto him who thinks evil of it” and appeared on the Royal crest between 1714 to 1800. Anyone with a UK passport might notice it on the front.

The only puzzle I haven’t been able to work out is where it was made. On one side of the small foot there is a letter ’S’, on the other side a mark I can’t work out. I’ve read most English made clay pipes tend to have a pattern embossed on the outer side of the bowl. This hides the mould seam. Although broken there is enough of the outer bowl to suggest there isn’t a pattern there. 

What I find amazing with this find is it could have been in the Thames for over 200 years yet the pattern is very clear and the bowl still has the dark staining from the burning tobacco. 


I wonder who owned it…

I have set myself a Mono Month Challenge (MMC), this also covers Mono Mondays. For the whole of February I will only Blip Mono images...

MMC #11 :: Clay Pipe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.