Meltwater

We left Punakaiki this morning and headed down the west coast highway towards the glaciers. We stopped at Hokitika for a coffee and to look at the greenstone jewelry. There are various types available but we wanted the New Zealand Pounamu rather than imported greenstone which is carved there. We made our selctions and bought it tax free and we’ll pick it up at Christchurch Airport on our way out of the country.
 
We arrived at Fox Glacier and checked into our hotel then after a cup of tea we set out to check the viewpoints and places we’ll go to tomorrow. This is the rainiest place in the country, I understand, and today the weather is beautifully sunny. I know there’s some bad weather coming up so our fingers are crossed for tomorrow.
 
I’m hoping I’ll have some great pics to choose from tomorrow so I’m not using the ones I took round here today. I’ll try to get them up on Flickr but internet is lousy here.
 
My blip today is from where we stopped for lunch (two bananas each). We were just waiting to cross one of the single file river bridges when we saw this beautiful view down the river. I reversed back and took a track down to the river which is such a lovely colour from the glacial melt. I don’t know what the river is or what our position was, our maps aren’t detailed enough, I’m afraid.
 
Thank you for all your lovely comments on my recent pics. I have put the link in for yesterday’s Flickr shots and you’ll find one or two from today if I can get them uploaded. Even at smallest size it’s taken me forever to get this up.
 
Ho hum!
 
David New Flickr shots
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.