a town called E.

By Eej

L.O.V.E.




I'm in love with my garden. I've always liked it, but this year, with the added patio behind the garage it has made me fall in love. It's not done yet, but it's lovely and will be even more lovely. It's my haven. I came home from work (a full 8 hours worth) and spend 2 hours outside, I just sit and watch, and sometimes I'll say something to a birdie or a squirrel. It completely relaxes me.
One of the baby-reds dropped by but when it saw one of the fox-squirrels it ran the other way faster than when it saw me. Hehehe. A hummingbird buzzed my ear but was gone before I could turn around. Then the Jays came. And we played. The little Titmouse tried, and we came up with a system that makes everyone happy.

Two mourning doves tried hard to ignore a starling chick that seemed to have adopted them.
Starling: "Are YOU my mummy?"
Dove: "Lalalalalalalalala"
Starling: "Are YOU my mummy?"
Other dove: "Lalalalalalalalala"

Then a mum starling flew in, and sat on a not-so-sturdy branch. Then one of the fledgelings followed. The branch looked even less sturdy. Then the chick that had been ignored by the doves flew up and sat down, both mum and the other child started to scold the last one and then the branch gave in and everyone went ass over teakettle.
I, ofcourse, laughed like a maniac and my photos of the scene only had tree - no birds.

It's amazing how much entertainment I can get out of so very little. I like it that way.

Recluse likes to hang out with me, but she makes SO much noise (meowing, purring and her jingling bell) that I don't mind when she stays in the front yard. Especially if she starts eating crickets again. Bleurch. But I love this photo. I love the light. I love how she's pretending to not look at me while hiding behind a young peony.


(I said something to the boss about the workload instead of just trying to do it all myself. Go me!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.