a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Glass works in decline

Derelict Thursday

A busy day today, so I was rather tied to my desk.  As five o'clock approached and the light started to go, I remembered that I needed to take my blip.  As it was Derelict Thursday my options for shooting in low light later on would be more limited.  With that in mind I grabbed coat and camera bag and raced out to Redcliffe Street for this shot.

This is the front of the former Pilkington Glass Works in Bristol.  Its been empty for some years now, as the graffiti shows.  In the last few years the building has been used for the occasional rave and is used by the homeless as a place to stay, when they can get in.

The building's design dates back to the early 1950s.  The curtain walling and metal frame windows being fairly typical of the architectural fashion at the time.  It is now scheduled for demolition, the block which this occupies is now largely vacant and presumably about to be redeveloped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.