a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Preparations

Sometimes you wonder if taking a holiday is going to be worth it, as you struggle to leave work at a sensible hour, keen to ensure that everything is in apple pie order before you go.  But then, you finally leave and you get that feeling inside "I'm on holiday - hurrah!!!"  ... and all of a sudden it was worth it.

I've spent this evening sorting out things on the computer:  checking in on the flights, printing out directions, booking airport parking, booking the Spanish train tickets, charging the kindles, downloading the holiday reading etc.,

My low point was trying to master the Spanish Renfe web site (the Red Nacional de los Ferrocarriles Espanoles) - the Spanish National Railway, which really was quite a struggle, but we got there in the end.  I even managed to avoid swearing.  Well, at least I think I did.  I'm sure that it is no worse than trying to deal with rail tickets in the UK if you are a foreign national.  Its just a question of lack  of familiarity. 

Tomorrow, Saturday, sees the Boxcats play their gig in the evening, which I'm really looking forward to.  However, once the gig is over I will need to hurry to pack up my gear and get home.  If I hurry I reckon I might even get 3 hours sleep before we need to leave for the airport ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.