The wrong town hall

Not a clever way to start the day.

I had a meeting in Stoke-on-Trent at 10am, so left home early to allow plenty of time. I drove as the train connections just did not work.

I looked at my road atlas before setting off, and thought it was obvious - straight down the M6 and the the A500 - and that would be it.

Now, I have never ever been to Stoke (amazingly) so this was new territory. I followed the signs to the city centre, parked and had a bit of a wander around as I had plenty of time. Not too impressed by the centre, noted the statue of Stanley Matthews, and then arrived here passing some boards hosting a photo exhibition about the 6 towns - and suddently realised the city centre of Stoke was in Hanley and not Stoke.

These chaps were doing some survey of Hanley town hall. As I checked my phone sat nav, I gathered that the news from the man in the cherry picker was not good.

Worked out where I needed to be, back to the car - and off to Stoke town, which is where the rail station and civic centre are. I got to the Civic Centre just in time ..........

The Potteries is not your typical city ! It really is an amalgamation of 6 towns and more, with no obvious "heart".I'll have to come back (although first impressions were not that good, there must be more here).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.