The Way I See Things

By JDO

Hellebore

It's been another utterly dismal day here - I literally haven't seen the sun since I was at the Broadway Tower last Sunday, and my mood has worsened a little more each day this week. It's round about this time of the year that I start to fantasise about putting the house on the market and moving back to a city - I just have to keep reminding myself that there are usually at least two or three days in May when it's actually quite pleasant in Worcestershire.

Anyway I'm having a better day than this hellebore spray, which was selected to make the ultimate sacrifice so I had something to photograph today. It's Helleborus x ericsmithii 'Bob's Best', and was bred by (and purchased from) the great plantsman Bob Brown at Cotswold Garden Flowers - though I think other nurseries do now sell it. On a bright spring day it's stunning - today I can only ask that you stretch your imagination!

Soundtrack: Home Thoughts from Abroad by Clifford T. Ward - though it's not the best day to ask me the question, Clifford, to be honest...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.