BLIPPING LOVELY VEGETABLES!

Whilst I was out and about today I took lots of photographs - on the bus, along a little country lane, in the shops, walking along the pavement and was quite happy knowing I had lots to choose from until I got home and was confronted with this wonderful array of vegetables grown by Mr. HCB.  Bless him, he had brought them in from the garden washed and prepared them, so all I need to do is cook them to go with the chicken breasts for our meal this evening (I didn’t dare mention that there was still some soil on the leeks - that would have seemed ungrateful!)

The sprouts are not the usual green ones, but called “Red Delicious” given to Mr. HCB by our son and daughter-in-law at Christmas 2013 as part of a Funky Veg Kit  - they know him well!  However, I would say they are purple and not red!  I guess they will taste as good as green ones, and perhaps even better!  The carrots do grow a bit haphazardly, as you will see, but we don’t grow them for show like a certain blipper friend’s husband, just to eat.  

Four years ago Mr. HCB had a disaster with his leeks when all of them were decimated by the leek moth - he was distraught, having grown and nurtured them from seed, so since then, he hasn’t grown any leeks or onions.  But last summer he decided to try again and started these beauties off early in the greenhouse, again from seed and you can see they are looking good!

So special thanks to Mr. HCB for tonight’s vegetables - I’m sure we will enjoy them.

What vegetable did Noah NOT take on the ark?
Scroll down………………….





LEEKS!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.