Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Delivering a Valentine...

I had another good day today - counted more birds and enjoyed a gloriously sunny (if slightly chilly) day.  I took this shot after this handsome fellow had delivered it to his mate, who is sitting on eggs on the nest.  She took the best part (the head, naturally) and let him fly off with the rest of the fish.  He will continue to feed her until the young hatch and then he will feed all of them until the babies are big enough to be left on the nest alone.  I'm always touched by the way birds tend to their mates, and their young.  

Anyway, it seemed a good Valentine's blip.  I've posted five other shots from today starting HERE on Flickr.  I was going to blip the green heron with the fish, but this one seemed more appropriate for the day.  

Second day of the Great Backyard Bird Count - I counted 31 species today, another good day.  Going to be hard to come close to that the next two days, but I'll be very happy if I can count a total of 75 species over the 4 days.  That's my personal goal, anyway...

Happy Valentine's Day, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.