Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Fourteen Pointers

Deer farming is the main primary industry in our neighbourhood, and this group of impressive chaps are to be found just a short walk away from home.

The dogs and I went for another one of our trademark blipwalks this morning. Most days I take a small bag with my prime kit (12mm f/2, 35mm f/1.4, 60mm f/2.4 macro) as it's nice and light and gives me plenty of aperture to play with in the dim light of the forest. But as today we were sticking to the road, I just fixed the 55-200mm on the X-T1 with a view to capturing some birdlife on the edge of the bush.

The birds were plentiful, but sticking to the safety of the canopy rather than perching lower down. So instead of Bellbirds and Kereru, today's blip features a gang of impressively attired red deer.

As the light was quite flatish, I decided to use the Mono+Red filter preset on the camera to boost the contrast, but then gave it a further tickle in post-prod Lightroom and SilverEfex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.