carliewired

By carliewired

Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix, Arizona

Amazing colours,
textures, materials are
crafted into art

~ carliewired

My valentine and I were off to the Musical Instrument Museum for the best part of the day. Equipped with a wireless headset, we were each able to tune in to the audio portion of each video displayed throughout the museum collection. The main exhibits are arranged by country or region. In each exhibit one viewed the common instruments and often added items such as dance costumes, art pieces and masks. Each exhibit featured a video showing how the musical instruments were played.  I found that for me, four hours was not enough. 

In the main foyer sits a Steinway grand piano. A young lady sat down and treated us all to classical music. Later, some budding musicians tried their hands at it. 

Although the brochure and the website advise that cell phones must be turned off, I encountered two individuals that obviously did not adhere to the rules. I complained to a volunteer about the first one I encountered. She told me there was nothing she could do about it. Really???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.