roamyourway

By Roam

Love

The ‘L Bomb’ is on my mind...

Love is something that is all around us but equally is the one thing many people feels evades us especially when we’re at our lowest. It comes in many forms, from family to friends, relationships to hobbies. But is there a one true love in life? Or is it this perfect ideal, this ‘Hollywood created’ fantasy that’s just a myth, a state of prolonged infatuation that we so longingly crave for.

I’m learning that relationships come and go, change and develop,  and not always the way I want them too. Things happen that you can’t change, take back, or forget. Whether or not those relationships continue comes down to fight or flight? I’m a fighter. My definition of what a true love is, is when you can move past all the drama and the mistakes you or others make and accept people at their worst in the cold light of day. Accepting people at their best is easy. But seeing someone in their biggest state of vulnerability and looking them in the eye is entirely different. In that moment if you can look past everything, accept their flaws and weaknesses and remember what it’s that’s special about them to you then that to me is the truest love. Not some fairytale happily ever-after bullshit story, because that isn’t reality.

I think we all commit our biggest failings around the people closest to us, because when we’re in that comfortable state we let our guard down. It is human nature to act impulsively, sometimes its brilliant, sometimes not but living not knowing isn’t really living. That desire to take risks is something I love, they can bring regret to some, but personally I don’t regret anything, I view everything as a lesson. 

My final words,  for me a hug is the truest validation of connection, I express my truest emotion through this action. Love those who are around you, “love their perfect imperfections.”

R

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.