Birds on a Wire*

My coffee maker failed me yesterday morning, but the reason was unclear. I am addicted to foamy milk in my coffee and the machine has a special little vessel called an aeroccino for this purpose. It has a little whisk in the bottom which spins as the milk is heating and produces a lovely cupful of airy steamed milk, only yesterday, it didn't.

I checked the little whisk and the little knob in the bottom of the  aeroccino over which it fits. All fine. I washed out the aeroccino and tried again with the same result--hot milk with no foam. I drank my coffee with that in it. It was not the same. Ozzie was not happy either, as one of the highlights of his day is to lick the foam out of my cup.

I called Nespresso and they said I could buy a new aeroccino with its own base, so it should work whether it was the fault of the little whisk or a problem with the aeroccino itself.

I ran down the road to the kitchen store and bought a new aeroccino, brought it home and filled it with milk. Same result--hot milk, no foam. Even OilMan(who never puts milk in any form in his coffee and admittedly had little interest) had no answers to this conundrum. 

Eventually, fourteen cups of milk later, I solved the problem. It was a simple solution. I'm curious to know if anyone has any guesses what I did….I'll tell you tomorrow.

*A little card I made for a friend who has a brain tumor and a tough road ahead of her…. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.