Me and Dad

Not the most flattering picture of me.

I have to go back a little to go forward with my story.

Yesterday we placed Dad in care for two weeks of respite. Andy desperately needed a break from his care duties and the respite facility is available, at a cost of course. To get him in there yesterday we had to use a bit of deception which we all felt very guilty about. He wasn't very happy at first but when I went back later in the day with his clothes he was raving about his room and how good the lunch was although he couldn't tell me what he ate. I must admit the facility is first rate.

So we come to today. I went down to the home for a visit because I am on afternoon shift at the moment. He was doing some activity when I got there and seemed quite happy. Somehow I got roped into an hour long concert with him. A singing and dancing extravaganza which went for an hour. An hour too long I though but the oldies loved it.

I snapped this quick picture just as I went so his boys can see he is at least smiling. As I left he wasn't too happy because he realised that he was in the secure part of the complex. I told him he couldn't come out to see me off. He looked a bit crestfallen and I felt a bit guilty as I walked away.

I will go and see him again tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.