Cathedral Explorer

Honest, I am NOT a trainspotter.

Realised that, on the way home from a rather hot and sticky badminton session, there was yet another stream train heading along the line to Stirling this evening (never see a steam train for years, then two come along within a month of each other). The big clue was the crowds of photographers packed on the old Kincardine bridge with their camera pointed east along the railway. I turned off a bit further down the line and managed to get a spot where there was just me and a man and his dog. I then managed to drive a few miles down the road and caught it again, along with another few dozen enthusiasts.

I drove yet further along, catching and passing it once more and nabbed this shot as the train headed off between Alloa and Stirling. Normally it's a grumpy crowd that sit waiting the few minutes for the trains to go past at the Cambus crossing (me included), but tonight they jumped out of their cars, shouted 'It's a steam train!" and waved as the Cathedral Explorer trundled slowly on through.

There's just something nice about old tech like this.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.