Big Windy Box

Never seen the need for these. Not here in Scotland. Not for the 3 days a year they might possibly be needed.

I laughed and shook my head when I saw that our shiny Mac Labs had been kitted out with them. Obviously the architects didn't realise all things technological beginning with a lower case i are happy being naturally aspirated and don't burn away like those small furnace fuelled PCs. But, it was a life saver today in the hoachin' temperatures we've been basking in. Turned down to it's lowest setting I heard myself shouting at students to shut the door to keep the heat out. I offered 5 minute sessions to the shiny pink people from the rest of the building to sit in for a very reasonable 50p charge (though some people abused that and used various excuses to pop in and speak to either myself or the students).

Worth its weight in cold today that was.

Hard to think that a mere 9 days away we were wrapped up in our woolies avoiding the freezing hail storms. This month of May's fairly turned it all around. Consider my clouts well and truly cast.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.