Journey Through Time

By Sue

Another Rose

On the way to the mall, I stopped by the little rose garden at Orchards Park and lo and behold, there were roses in bloom. Last year it wasn't until almost mid-June before we had decent roses, it was so cold and nasty in May. This year, with that lovely string of dry, warm days the roses are popping out. I had several to chose from, but this bright orange rose won the day.

I had my dental check up and cleaning today. Look Mom, no cavities!! My dental hygienist and I were very happy. I've seen Kathleen for as long as we've lived in Vancouver, about 15 years or so. She just talks and talks and talks and she can almost lull me to sleep, but I like her a lot. She's a smart lady and she's up on all of the newest and latest in dental studies. She told me about a man who worked in Borneo on a project and while he was there he contracted some sort of bacterial infection that caused extensive damage to his gums. He had to undergo daily treatment for two weeks before it was better and after every trip to Borneo after that he would go back to the dentist for more cleaning. She said, well, if you travel to some of these places you can pick up a bacteria that you aren't resistant to and it can do a lot of damage. One needs to be vigilant and practice good oral hygiene when traveling abroad. So, that's your dental hygiene lesson for the day, kids.

Must go make soup! Yikes, it's getting late in the afternoon already.

Take care boys and girls....see ya later. Don't forget to floss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.