Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eyes on the prize

A brisk morning here in Central FL - but the sun was out and I was antsy to try out the D90.  Been awhile since I've used it and to say that I'm a bit rusty would be an understatement.  In fact, I was singularly unhappy with most of my shots today - just wasn't able to get the crispness that I'm used to with the D600.  So, although this shot isn't really anything special (in that it the heron isn't actually doing something interesting), it is my pick for today.

This is a tricolor heron, by the way, one of our smaller herons and also one of my favorites to watch.  I had the pleasure of seeing 4 of them today and each time I stayed a bit to watch them fishing and dancing in the water.  Most of the dancing pictures were crap, unfortunately, but I did post five that I am moderately happy with starting HERE on Flickr.  Actually truth be told, I am very happy with the yawning limpkin shot.  Probably should have blipped that, come to think of it.  Oh well.

Shipped the D600 out to Nikon today and paid dearly to get it there by Monday.  Hopefully I will hear from them Tue or Wed with an estimate and time frame to fix it.  Sigh.  Meanwhile, the D90 and I shall overcome out differences ... if it kills me!  It was my dearest camera before I moved to full-frame, so I just need to get over my bad self.  

Thanks for the lovely comments on yesterday's flyer.  I am still wishing I'd gotten the shot that Sefferdog got... but I guess I feel pretty good about a flying egret, too.  

Cheers, and have a great weekend!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.