Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Working hard...

What a morning Hubs, Sefferdog and I had at Viera!  It was frigid (mid-30's F) and very windy, but at least the sun was out.  And while most of the photographers who braved the weather were making the loop in their cars (with massive lenses hanging out the windows), we intrepidly walked the entire area, bundled to the ears, toting binoculars and big lenses.  Felt good!  Many laughs, many wonderful moments captured on camera. 

I knew I was going to chose a flight shot today - because everytime I look at this, I will remember three things...

1) a morning spent with a good friend
2) the fact that this Great Egret was flying into a headwind so stiff that it basically wasn't moving at all (making for easier than usual flight shots)
3) and that my camera shutter crapped out just before the gorgeous Crested Caracara was seen, chowing down on a tilapia that he's probably stolen from an osprey.

Yep, my D600's shutter malfunctioned - kaput.  It seems like the shutter is sticking - or maybe the mirror is sticking, hard to say.  In any case, it's being boxed up and sent to Nikon in the morning.  I was beyond distraught that I wasn't able to photograph the caracara - that has been on my wish list since I got to FL.  But, if anyone else was going to get the shot, I'm really glad it was Sefferdog.  And don't you dare NOT go look at it!  It's incredible.

And if you'd like to see some of my shots prior to the Great Shutter DIsaster, I posted 8 starting HERE on Flickr with a pair of cranes  This is actually the second to last photo I was able to take before the shutter fully flamed out.  The last one was of the 'dog heading down the highway in front of us on his Harley.  You're gonna have to talk to him if you want to see it!

I'll be making do with the D90 for awhile, until my camera is repaired and returned.  If things get too dismal for me, I may rent a camera body for a week or so.  Maybe the new Nikon D700...just to try it out...stop laughing.

Finally had to turn the heat on in the townhouse when we got home.  Temps are supposed to approach freezing here tonight - brrrrr.  Good night to snuggle up with my honey and Phoebe.  

TTFN, people...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.