Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Bird # 22 - Wild Turkey

Meet Jake. He's a young male Wild Turkey and he is working on his display moves.  When seen this morning, he was traveling in a group of 20 wild turkeys who were roaming around the edge of the woods, our yard, and our patio - much to Charlie's consternation.  It's likely that the entire group were all youngsters from last year's broods - it's common for them to stay in large groups until they are ready to breed (spring.)  Anyway, Jake here was experimenting with being "partially puffed" which is a prelude to the "fancy pants" move where he fans his tail feathers.  I did put a shot in Extra of this behavior featuring two jakes in the woods wearing the fanciest of pants.  

Hubs and I got home around 9:30 last night and tumbled into bed almost immediately.  The cats were overjoyed moderately happy to see us and wanted to some play/cuddle time which we were happy to provide.  We both got a good night of sleep in spite of me coughing during the night.  

I've been in front of my computer all morning sorting, deleting, tagging and editing photos from the trip.  I think I have it down to a somewhat manageable number now and will put it aside and do a final sort tomorrow. I will try to replace the last few days of blips with higher res images now that I have the ability to upload from my computer.  Always when I upload from my phone, the images are very low res.   

I've put an album on Flickr with the top pics of my Arizona photos - if you'd like to browse, please CLICK HERE

Thank you to everyone who stopped by and left comments, hearts and stars during my trip this week!  

Toodles...

Debbi, back in the frozen northeast

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.