Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Timing...

For all of you nature photographers out there, I think you will agree that timing is crucial.  Yes, of course, camera skills will get you the "keeper" shot, but if you're timing isn't right you'll never get the shot at all.  Today timing was in my favor.  I'd stepped out on the deck to enjoy the freakishly warm temperatures, camera slung over my shoulder as usual.  Serendipitously, I had the 1.4 TC on the 300 lens, giving me 420 mm. - exactly right for capturing this white-tailed deer ans she browsed at the edge of our woods.  In this photo, she'd spotted me and was judging whether I represented a threat.  Apparently not, as she came back out.

Our owl-venture last night was successful!  We were able to see 3 Short-eared owls after the sun set; as well as five northern harriers who were still flying when the owls came out.  All were way too far out over the marsh for photos (not to mention that the light was way too poor), so we used binoculars to enjoy the sight.  Worth the trip.  And, that makes for 43 species logged during this year's Great Backyard Bird Count - not a bad total for northern NJ in the middle of winter!  I hope to maybe add one or two more tomorrow - we'll see.  

MIL was well-rested when I stopped in to visit today and was in good spirits. In her more lucid moments, she understands that she's there for her own safety and because her children (and daughter in law) love her and want her to be well cared for.  That doesn't mean she is happy to be there, but at least she understands on some level.  Once again, good timing served me since I was there when her doctor stopped in and so got a brief update from him.  All good.

Today's high temperature reached 61 F, even though there is still snow cover over much of our property.  I nudged around the garden for a bit and found several lady bird beetles, one very cold little jumping spider and a couple of flies.  A bug bonanza!  

Had a nice long chat with my parents this morning, too - they are getting ready to head out of Yuma by week's end and will begin very slowly heading north.  No point in getting back up to OR before it warms up a bit, so they'll dawdle in Nevada and maybe Southern California for a while.  

Thanks for the very kind comments on yesterday's eagle.  I may try to get back over to that same spot again tomorrow later in the day - not that I'm likely to see the scene play out again but ...hey, you never know, right?  Plus it would be nice to shoot without having the darned sun right in front of me.  

XO
Debbi

PS:  Notes on the season... the cardinals started singing 2 days ago, a glorious sound.  Today in the garden, I found the first few green leaves coming up from the bee balm, primroses and montauk daisies.  Can spring be far behind???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.