A Bridge Too Far

We were woken by BB coming into our bed asking whether it was morning.  It was 7.15-ish, but neither of us really answered his question as neither of us wanted to get up.  TT eventually got up with him.  I lay in bed thinking about going for a run. The thinking did turn into action, though it was a terrible run.  It started OK, but my breathing was terrible and then I got a stitch.  Too many stops to call it a run!

I came home and made soup from bits I found in the fridge – leeks and butternut squash. It turned out better than I expected and it went down well.  I am on a mission to clear the freezer out, so took some fish and prawns out so TT can make fish pie for tea. It’s always good to delegate!

BB has requested a lemon drizzle cake which I may make later.  He and I shared the most delicious lemon brownie when we were in Edinburgh on Wednesday.  I must find a recipe.

We headed to Musselburgh after lunch so we could go for a walk and then go to the big supermarket.  We walked up the River Esk to the point where the A1 crosses  over it and then we walked back to Inveresk through the fields.  Inveresk is a conservation village with lots of lovely big (and expensive) houses, many hidden behind high walls.  It’s nice to look!!  I’m not sure about the gated community though.

Shopping done, we returned home and BB ate two bowls of bran flakes.  TT is making tea and I have just tried to order a personalised spoon on the Kellogs web site, now that we have the three codes from promotional packets (thank you grandma!).  The website isn’t working.  How infuriating!

I’m off to sit in front of the fire with the paper.

We took a slight detour to see where this bridge over the Esk went.  BB wasn’t very happy as we had been walking into the wind and rain, so this was probably a bridge too far for him!!  TT was getting exasperated by him and is walking away in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.