wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Ok ok white flag time.........

So we got about 5 inches last night. Of the stupid white stuff that has become a daily occurrence. The pathways are up over my waist. Next to the other side of the house it is waist deep. So basically if we get anymore, it will cover the windows. The roof is clear thank God. It appears as though if we painted the yard black next year that would work better than the green. The bird feeders are covered. I tried to put out plastic tub covers with bird seed in them but they got buried. That would be what I will find in the spring. Enough about snow.

Across the street Is an empty building. It was a store when I was growing up. It was Melchers then Falmouth Variety, then it became a ceramics studio. The woman who bought it went to Belgium to buy molds. They were really nice. It went out of business a number of years ago. Two years ago a couple wanted to open an ice cream stand there. Open from 10 in the morning until 1100 at night. They were going to pave the whole front. There are huge lights in the front. They were going to install more. I went to a town meeting and fought it. You see this couple wasn't honest. They were going to expand it to a restaurant the next year. They also wanted to open a beauty shop in the back. I figured between the lights, the traffic, and the sound of car doors and people talking..........it would be unbearable. I have an 89 year old father living there. It would be awful. On the way out the woman of the couple looked at me and called me white Trish and yelled that we were hicks and if I thought the lights were bright wait until she was done with them. I said
"Whoa claaaaaasy welcome to the neighborhood."
She was nuts and dropped her contract on the building. So now it sits, empty. See the town denied the permit on the basis of that they didn't want any business in there. There was a really jerk counsellor who said I was unAmerican because I didn't want ice cream. What a jerk.
See I remember a store, a neighborhood store. I remember buying soda the sound of the clinking of the bottles in the glass front cases sounds different from the glass of today. The smell of the zinc lined freezers where we got our ice creams sticks in my head and I can close my eyes and go back there. We bought our Beatles cards there. They came with sticks of really bad gum that we would chew while we looked at them over and over again. We bought Seventeen magazines and teen magazines.......it was a slice of our youth, a memory that anchors me.
That fact that she swore at me after the meeting validated that I was right in fighting it.
She was from away after all........
So good morning to down under and.......G'day to my friends in the north, till tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.