Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Cliff Walk...

There are cliffs around the coast of Guernsey from the town in the east, moving in a southerly direction right around to the south west tip of the island. This path is very close to town; down to the left are the bathing pools that I've blipped many times...

It's many years since I've walked around the cliffs much at all. Certainly not since my RA was diagnosed in 1991but probably not all that much since I grew up. When I was a child we often walked on the cliffs but usually had to walk to and from the south coast as well. Since we lived in the northern outskirts of the town it was a fair walk just to get there but back then that was what people did. My dad had quite a fear of heights so refused to walk on some of the cliff paths where the drop was too steep; I have no such problems so will endeavour to walk the whole length of the cliffs in bite sized bits. I feel another series manifesting itself.

When I was 9 my brother was born and as a child he had a serious dislike of walking so that ended the family cliff walks. All the resting as a child must have done him good because he loves walking now.

I meant to walk with a group this morning but forgot to find out where they were meeting so decided that it would be more sensible anyway to try out my old walking boots to see whether they still fit. I haven't worn the boots, and therefore no socks either, for probably 4 years. They were OK but could be more comfortable; I think because they are a couple of sizes too big so that my deformed feet will squeeze in. So a couple more trial runs before next Monday might be a good idea. I could even see whether there is a more comfortable pair for sale...But then that would mean going into a shop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.