An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Red mist...

Imagine my surprise when this morning I received an email from the Daily Mail’s Online Picture Desk asking for  “permission to use your photo from this article for a similar article on our site”
 
Rather than risk clicking on the link (I suspected it was a spam email) I googled the wording and was astonished to find THIS ARTICLE  in an online magazine that I’d never heard of, uploaded by a Blipper I’ve never had any contact with.
 
Now whilst I was happy to take part in Blip’s Big Moment challenge, I have no interest whatsoever in being involved in some cheesy article for the Mail Online and have replied to them saying permission not granted.
 
I have emailed the Blipper who uploaded the article to Bored Panda pointing out that he did not ask my permission to use my photos or link to my journal (I wonder if any of the couples in the article have been contacted by him) and asking him if he had Blip Central’s permission to upload the article to Bored Panda in the first place.  I await his reply.  


I will also be emailing Blip Central.
 
I am so angry about it all, but most of all I am angry with myself for forgetting that Blip, no matter how cosy and friendly it is, is just a corner of the internet with more eyes on it than I realise.  The whole thing has brought home to me just how personal my blip journal has become and I’m afraid that’s going to change.
 
I’ve started by making my journal protected, which totally goes against the grain, as I believe it stunts interaction both personally and on the site as a whole.  I am so sad at taking this step.
 
Today’s experience also means I will be sharing less in my write ups and I hope you understand why. 
 
 I’m still considering deleting the blips used in the article, as I fear that’s the only way to stop them being used.  Blip’s T&Cs state,
 
By submitting, posting or displaying materials on our site, you hereby grant to us a non-exclusive, perpetual, worldwide, transferrable and free licence to use, publish, display, reproduce, modify and distribute such materials on and through our site and for the promotion, marketing and advertising of us and our site (and to permit others to do the same on our behalf).”
 
So I am now worried that Blip Central could override me by granting permission to the Mail Online to rehash the article, as so long as Blip is advertised / promoted as part of it.
 
For the first time in almost 4 years of Blipping, I am on the verge of stopping.
 
 
 
 
 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.