Salts Mill

Not sure if 1853 constitutes as ancient but this is my entry for Mono Monday - Ancient Buildings hosted by JoanneInOz.
First day back at work today and of course a busy one.  A quick stop off in Saltaire on my way to swimming, just as it was getting dark.  Used my tripod for this and it's heavily cropped but liked the lights in the windows and the rows of chimney pots in the foreground.
Salts Mill built by Sir Titus Salt of course, nestles alongside the river Aire, the leeds to Carlisle train line,  the Leeds - Liverpool canal and the A650!  Good positioning for his Alpaca tweed mill!  He built Saltaire for his workers and named some of the streets after his 11 children.  It's a World Heritage site - and he made sure there was every facility for his workers... except a pub.  There is now a pub next to Salts Mill called 'Don't Tell Titus - shhhhhh! 
(Shame about the satellite dishes and ugly dormer window!)
PS... I did stop for ten mins today to vote on 300 Loversoflight blips - felt like a gladiator judge with my yea or nay - enjoyed it immensely and hope I was fair - good luck to everyone who entered!  (What's the word for a gladiator judge - king... what the heck am I thinking of!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.